Award Winners Announced for Winter

Most Valuable Player awards wrap up an exciting winter season.

Brian Muldoon
March 21, 2017
Lydia Anderson Phillips Exeter Academy Girls Hockey

Lydia Anderson '19 handles the puck against Worcester Academy in a game on January 11.

With spring right around the corner, the coaches have announced their Most Valuable Player awards for the 2016-17 winter season. Each year this is a difficult selection due to the number of outstanding student-athletes. The individual award winners are listed below.

Also, special congratulations to several teams and athletes who completed particularly successful seasons. The varsity wrestling team captured the New England Championship along with their third consecutive NEPSAC Class A Championship. The varsity boys basketball team also earned a NEPSAC Class A title, their third in the past five seasons, while the JV boys basketball team finished with a perfect 15-0 record. The varsity boys hockey team turned in a 23-7-1 overall record and advanced to the semifinal round of the NEPSAC Stuart/Corkery Tournament. William Coogan ’20 and Maggie Hock ’19 both enjoyed fantastic success on the track, concluding with strong performances at the New Balance National Scholastic Indoor Championship.  

Congratulations to all of the student-athletes, managers and coaches on a fun-filled winter season!


Boys Varsity Basketball

Captains: Mitchell Kirsch ’17, Ben Swett ‘17
The Alan M. Tarr Memorial Basketball Trophy, Most Valuable Player Award: Mitchell Kirsch ‘17


Girls Varsity Basketball

Captains: Maya Blake ’17, Bella Edo ’17, Ella Johnson ‘18

The Catherine E. Dunbar Girls' Basketball Trophy, Most Valuable Player Award: Maya Blake ‘17


Boys Varsity Hockey

Captains: Bradley Ingersoll '17, Graham Rutledge '17, Collin Shapiro '17

The Lloyd Bishop Hockey Trophy, Most Valuable Player Award: Bradley Ingersoll ‘17, Kyle Jadatz ‘18


Girls Varsity Hockey

Captains: Brittani Chapman ’17, Sydnee Goyer ’17, Bonnie LaBonte ‘17

Most Valuable Player Award: Lydia Anderson ‘19


Boys Varsity Squash

Captains: Myles Haigney ’17, Darius Kahan ’17

The Joseph H. Bowen Squash Trophy, Most Valuable Player Award: Stuart Rucker ‘18

The H. Hamilton Bissell Award for Dedication and Improvement in JV Squash: Alex Mangiapane ‘19


Girls Varsity Squash

Captains: Serena Cho ’17, Ji Won Sung ‘17

The Mary Spruill Kilgore Girls’ Squash Trophy, Most Valuable Player Award: Yun Min Serena Cho ’17


Boys Varsity Swimming & Diving

Captains: Joel Lotzkar ’17, Liam Oakley ‘17

The Waldo Holm Memorial Swimming Trophy, Most Valuable Player: Joel Lotzkar ‘17


Girls Varsity Swimming & Diving

Captains: Catherine Huang ’17, Emily LaRovere ‘17

Most Valuable Player Award: Emily LaRovere ‘17


Boys Varsity Indoor Track & Field

Captain: Marvin Bennett ‘17

The Stephen Potter Memorial Track Trophy, Most Valuable Player Award: Marvin Bennett ‘17


Girls Varsity Indoor Track & Field

Captain: Gwendolyn Wallace ‘17

Most Valuable Player Award: Margaret Hock ‘19


Boys Varsity Wrestling

Captains: Quinn Abrams ’17, AJ Pedro ’17, Joey Rossetti ’17

Most Valuable Wrestler Award: AJ Pedro ‘17

The Clifford J. Gallagher Good Sportsmanship in Wrestling: Joey Rossetti ‘17